Pay and Display
Other cities using Pay and Display Units?
New York City, NY
San Antonio, TX
New Orleans, LA
Fort Worth, TX
Oklahoma City, OK
Virginia Beach, VA
Where Can I Park?
The maps on the right provide locations of garages, surface lots and meters throughout the city.
Temporary No Parking Signs
To avoid being ticketed and towed unnecessarily, check for temporary No Parking signs. Residents and business owners may request temporary No Parking signs to accommodate moving and delivery vehicles on non-metered streets by filling out this form. Temporary No Parking signs should be requested at least 48 hours in advance.
Clayton's Public Works Department issues permits to rent parking meters for $20 a day. The Parking Meter Rental Application is available in PDF format on the How Can I Rent a Parking Meter item in Frequently Asked Questions. Please note meter rentals require a minimum of 24 hour advanced notice.
Parking Meter Enforcement and Fines
Parking meters are enforced from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Park free on weekends and city holidays.
Two Hour Limit at Meters
Meters are intended for short term use. Re-feeding meters beyond 2 hours is not allowed. Car tires are randomly chalked and checked in two hours. If the meter has been re-fed, an overtime ticket will be issued.
- Expired meter (within 14 days) - $10.00
- First penalty (after 14 days) – add $10.00
- Second penalty (after 60 days) - add $10.00
- Overtime at meter - $15.00
- Parking in a disabled space - $100.00
Visit the Parking Ticket page for information on paying parking tickets.
Downtown Employee Parking Program
As an extension of the Downtown Master Plan adopted in 2010, the city has initiated a Downtown Retail and Restaurant Employee Parking Incentive Policy. The policy is an attempt to alleviate parking issues in the downtown. Businesses participated in drafting the policy, and the Economic Development & Vibrant Downtown Action team reviewed and endorsed it.