Service Changes Due to COVID-19: 

Changes, closures and cancellations have occurred to many of Clayton's facilities, meetings, events and services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Click for updated information.

Upcoming Meetings

More Events

Economic Development Advisory Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Roles and Duties

Ordinance No. 4207 passed on August 25, 1981 established a special business district for the City of Clayton, and was amended by Ordinance No. 4640 on June 14, 1988, August 25, 1992 by Ordinance No. 4911 and further amended on April 8, 1997 by Ordinance No. 5322, and further amended on July 8, 1997 by Ordinance No. 5341 and finally on June 12, 2012 by Ordinance No. 6027.

The Board of Aldermen appoint an Advisory Board consisting of no more than seven members to make recommendations as to the use of funds collected and upon request, to make recommendations regarding significant matters related to the vitality of the business community.

The members of the Advisory Committee represent such groups as: (1) the commercial real estate community; (2) the financial industry; (3) the legal field; (4)businesses maintaining offices located in the Central Business District; (5) businesses maintaining retail businesses located in the Central Business District; (6) the Clayton School District; and (7) the Clayton Chamber of Commerce. The Chair of the Board is appointed by the Mayor and the Board of Aldermen.

The staff liaison is the Economic Developer. The Aldermanic representatives are not voting members of the Committee. The Committee meets annually to approve the Special Business District tax budget and when called, review and offer recommendations to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen regarding special issues.

Board Information

Source of Authority
Ordinance 5322 adopted April 8, 1997

Meeting Information
Meets at the call of the Chairman. Call 314-290-8467 for more information.

Refer also to Clayton's Meeting Guidelines.


  • Bill Schute
  • Norton Hoffman
  • Robert Kerr
  • Brian Kinman
  • Ann Vazquez
  • Charles Brennan
  • Paul Rapponotti

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Amy Rubin, Clayton School District
  • Ellen Gale, Clayton Chamber of Commerce
  • Craig Owens, City Manager
  • Gary Carter, Staff Liaison
  • Mayor Michelle Harris
  • Joanne Boulton, Aldermanic Representative
  • Ira Berkowitz, Aldermanic Representative
Meeting TitleMeeting DateAgendaMinutes
Economic Development Advisory Committee06/24/2020 8:30 AMAgendaNot Available