Service Changes Due to COVID-19: 

Changes, closures and cancellations have occurred to many of Clayton's facilities, meetings, events and services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Click for updated information.


More News

Vision Statement

 A leading police agency connected to the community.

Mission Statement

To serve and protect the Clayton Community with PRIDE.


  • Professionalism
  • Respect
  • Innovation
  • Dedication
  • Excellence

Department History

Law enforcement services were provided by a Marshal during the City's early years, but in 1920, the Marshal system was changed to a Police Department. Beginning with one full-time officer, the department has mirrored the City's growth and now consists of 50 commissioned officers and 6 civilian employees. Of particular note is the fact that the Police Department has only had eight Chiefs of Police for its entire one hundred year existence.

Long recognized as a leader among municipal police agencies in St. Louis County, the Clayton Police Department has consistently endeavored to ensure the quality of its personnel, and has historically fielded one of the best-educated, highly trained and most respected police forces in the metropolitan region. In keeping with its tradition as a leader, in the year 2000, the Department was among the first law enforcement agencies in the State of Missouri to successfully achieve accreditation through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA).


The Police Department is divided into three major bureaus, one of which is commanded by a Captain and the others by two Lieutenants. The Field Operations Bureau is responsible for patrol duties, responding to calls-for-service, traffic and parking enforcement, and community relations and crime prevention programs. The Investigations Bureau is responsible for follow-up investigations and juvenile matters. The Support Bureau is responsible for records and general administration.